Houghton Mifflin: Grave Mercy (#1), Dark Triumph (#2), and Mortal Heart (#3) (His Fair Assassin Trilogy) by Robin Lafevers

May 2018 Book of the Month


Every month, the avid readers in our Books department choose one new title that needs to be shared. It's a book we've read, a book that's made us fall in love, and one that lingered with us long after the last page had been turned.

We're so invested in getting more people to read this book that as added encouragement, you save 25% when you buy it during its featured month.

May Title: The Bottom of the Sky

Cousins Isaac and Ezra have grown up as such close friends that they feel they are practically the same entity. Together they occupy their own tiny world; a world so small, that even their other science fiction-loving friends find it impossible to break through. That is, until a strange and beautiful girl appears at one of their sci-fi club meetings.

The Bottom of the Sky is the latest work from Argentine author Rodrigo Fresán. Translated from the original Spanish, it's an homage to the heyday of science fiction. Fans of Philip K. Dick and Lovecraft will find Fresán's hidden references to be a particular treat.

The book feels like being lost in a memory, or perhaps, moving through a dream. Slipping forward and backward in time and morphing from childhood remembrance to adulthood to classic science fiction, it distills the organic quality of stream-of-consciousness down to its more refined essence. Expect thought-provoking metaphors, beautifully crafted images, and tiny jewel-like tidbits scattered throughout.

Want to meet your favorite author? Every year, we host hundreds of reading and signing events. Check out our events website or sign up for our e-newsletter for the latest news!

Book Cover